Light

I have joined a new painting group last term.  We have a group leader who set the theme but we are freed to choose media and subjects.  I am very pleased with this approach as it encourage us try things we would not think of otherwise.  The follow two are both acrylics I started in the group but finished at home.  The tree is done totally with palette knife except the shafts of light.  The pumpkin was drawn with charcoal on a yellow thin acrylic background then used black acrylic to outline the objects and shadows.  The painting was done by applying acrylic with brush and finished off with thin glaze.

One thing I learnt is that I have to take time looking and thinking in the process of painting.

dscn2177dscn2175

One thought on “Light

  1. I think that the techniques you are experimenting with can only make your work stronger, and I think it’s evident in the work. I feel that it’s important for me to do the same. Your new group sounds like a exciting place to be. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

