Part 3, Project 3 ex 2 Foreground, middle ground, background

The aim of this exercise is to establish a foreground, middle ground and background in your drawing.

I’ve looked back on my sketches and decided the pave behind the local library, from the sketchbook walk exercise, would be a good one.  It provides clear foreground and middle ground features.  Also it was a very quiet place when I did the original sketch.  I decided to go back to the same spot for my A3 drawing because, a) I hoped the weather would be better than the grey day I had previously and b) I wanted to reposition the entrance of the car park away from the exact centre of the paper.

Disappointingly, it was still a very grey dull day.  Unfortunately, it also was the second May Bank holiday and a stream of friendly people came to talk to me.  I did enjoy the conversation but that left me little time to do my drawing.  I’ve only managed the outlines and blocked the colour with watercolour and watercolour pencils.  I finished the drawing with acrylic paints at home.

I am not too happy with the colours.  I think they are too bright for a dull day.  I think it would be better if I continue with the watercolour pencils.

IMG_0399

Watercolour, Acrylic on A3 cartridge paper

IMG_0397

Initial drawing with graphite and watercolour pencils and watercolour wash.

Reflection
How did you simplify and select?
Yes, I did select an simplify.  It would not be possible to draw every leaves and grass.
Were you able to focus on simple shapes and patterns amid all the visual information available to you?
To some extend I was able to focus on simple shapes but not to the extend that I can distill the objects to pure geographical shapes.  I can see patterns too for examples waters and clouds in my Lake District sketches.
How did you create a sense of distance and form?
With more details and bigger of the objects in foreground.  Also, even though I can’t always realised in my drawings, I do notice the far an object, the bluer in colour and less defined in details.
Were you able to use light and shade successfully?
Not always but getting better.  At least I can see them better even though my hand did not obey my brain.
What additional preliminary work would have been helpful towards the larger study?
I find sketchbook helps especially with larger size such as my Lake District initial sketch is the same size of the other studies.  I can record more details and the benefit of not need to scale.  It may be the reason John Constable did his full size 6 feet studies.  OK, I do know scaling is a very useful tool too.
Leave a Reply

