Part 2, Project 6 ex 1 Quick sketches around the house

After a holiday and the Chinese New Year celebration, it is time getting back to drawing.  We are asked to do quick sketches in our own house.

Which are the strongest and why? I find closeup details such as the fruit bowl and the shelf are much easier.  It is because details can compensate some of incorrect perspective and proportion.  There is nowhere to hire in wide-angle view.  I find foreshortening is most challenging,  It took me a few attempts of the dinner table before it looks remotely like a table standing on the ground not flying in thin air.  Still by no mean perfect.

Which drawings did you enjoy the most? I enjoy the fruit bowl and radio the most.  It was fun drawing it.  I like the different texture.

Which area in which room do you want to study further? I like to work more on the door frame.  I want to get it right next time.

home6

I think I included too much in the A4 page. I could crop it tighter by losing some of the front ground sofa and the TV shelf.

home 7

The proportion of the door frame is not correct. It is too short. I should have either length it or make it narrower.

Part of the kitchen. This drawing took a very long time. I started in mid-afternoon and end up drawing in the dark. I don’t want to switch the light on in the middle of my drawing.

home 2

Quite like this one. I think it shows the light from the left window.

home 3

The perceptive is not quite right.

home 1home 4

I was torn between drawing details and the whole of the mirror and fireplace. At the end I chose details. I find it more interesting.

I was torn between drawing details and the whole of the mirror and fireplace. At the end I chose details. I find it more interesting.

2 thoughts on “Part 2, Project 6 ex 1 Quick sketches around the house

Leave a Reply

