Part 2, Project 5 ex 2 Tonal study of bones and shells

Find your subject and decide on the best media for conveying its characteristics. Would the subject lend itself to a strong tonal handling with heavy shading using a solid graphite pencil or charcoal? Or do you want to make a more delicate visual statement? In this case a mix of soft and harder pencils or a drawing pen might be better. Or try both approaches.

IMG_0307IMG_0306

The first is a HB and 6M graphite pencil drawing in my A4 cartridge sketch book.  I think I try one with watercolour.  It was a disaster.  I could not get the graduate change of tones.  I found difficulty in handling watercolour on large surface.  I then moved on to acrylic.  The outcome is slightly better but not entirely satisfactory.  Anyway, I like the second drawing better despite failed to manage the graduate tonal changes.  I think the composition is better with stronger shadow.

 

2 thoughts on “Part 2, Project 5 ex 2 Tonal study of bones and shells

Leave a Reply

