Part 2, Project two – ex 1Experimenting

In your sketchbook, divide a page into four squares and experiment with depicting the textures. Make curved, straight and wiggly lines. Try streaking, smudging and dropping ink onto wet and dry surfaces and try to describe what the texture feels and looks like. Be as free as you can and experiment with materials and tools to create interesting effects. Make notes in your learning log; these will help later when you come to look back at your work.

IMG_0238This images are my first attempt.   The stainless steel ladle with long contour line, rubbed them with finger to give it a smooth surface then added more contour lines to show the reflection.  It was a very dull cloudy day with only natural light.  The metal ladle looked very dark.  In fact the surface looked darker than it’s shadow!

The second was a piece of white stone I picked up on a beach walk in South of England.  The stone is very smooth, matty white.  I outlined it and use short straight lines to indicate the rounded edges; a few light straight lines for the slight curve in the middle and just a few dots on the surface.

The feather was drew with a few indicative contour lines for both the down feather and the vane.

The pine cone was with harder strokes for the woody texture.

I managed the texture OK but I am not experimental enough.  Below are more attempts.  The first is a quick sketch of my own left hand inspired by Henry Moore.  He was not the most elegant drawer but functional.  He had drawn a lot of hands too.  The two views of an early human skull were based on a quick sketch I did at the London Natural History Museum.  They used to have a lot of primates bones on display but disappointingly in my last visit, I found out the whole section was gone and replaced by a snack stall with a few tables and chairs.  The only skull I found was in a very cramped room labelled Treasures (a collection of their best items).  I may sound ungrateful for not appreciate the effort the museum put in the display but I rather seeing the old evolution section.

IMG_0242

my left hand inspired by Henry Moore, pencil drawing in my A4 sketchbook

IMG_0245

Pencil drawing in my A4 sketchbook based on a sketch of early human at the Natural History Museum

IMG_0240

experiment with frottage

The above images are frottages of different surfaces.  The first one was a brass camel inlay on a small wooden box.  It came out OK.  The second, in the middle was a mother-of-pearl phoenix inlay on a wooden jewel box.  It showed nothing remotely like it.  The other two were rubbings on wood.  I think they were OK but not spectacular.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

