Part 2, Ex 2 – Compositional studies of natural objects

Select some more objects but, this time, concentrate on natural rather than man- made elements.

These images on the left are from my A4 sketchbook trying out composition of a different natural objects.

Initially I chose some eggs and home grown garlics.  They both are round objects.  I placed them on a tea towel to prevent the eggs from rolling away.  Later I changed to onions because they are better match with garlics.

Inspired by the colour drawings in the course book, I’ve also tried out different media – oil pastel, soft pastel, sharpie marker pens and ballpoint pen.  but at the end, I did the final drawing with a ballpoint pen because I’ve not yet used it in a large drawing and I like to see its effect .

The composition of the garlics and onions is similar to the thumbnails but I decided not to draw the tea towel and the board because they are not natural objects.  Furthermore, the garlic stems stand out better without the tea towel and the board.  I like the curves of the stem and they also provide a link between the two groups.   However, I don’t think I have quite achieved the rule of third that I’d originally planned with the garlics at the lower-left third junction and the onions at the upper-right third one.

Garlics and Onions. ballpoint pen on A2 paper

Garlics and Onions. ballpoint pen on A2 paper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reflection

Review your work for the last two exercises and make notes on the following:

Is it easier to suggest three dimensions on man-made or natural objects? Try to explain your answer. 

No, I don’t think there are much difference in suggesting three dimensions between man-made or natural objects.  They both rely on how the shapes and forms are depicted; relationships between objects; and lights and reflections as well.

How did you create a sense of solidity in your compositions?

use variation of tonal values; weight of lines; reflected lights and shadows.

Did changing the arrangement of your composition make a difference to your approach and the way you created a sense of form?

Yes, it did.  Putting an object in front of another shows forms and solidity easier in particular with the play of reflected lights and cast shadow.  I think the composition impacts on the choice of media too.  Some media do not work well with detailed and complex groups.

2 thoughts on “Part 2, Ex 2 – Compositional studies of natural objects

Leave a Reply

