Part 2, Ex 1- Composition Sketch of Man-Made Objects

 

Select or create a composition comprised of man-made objects. Choose objects that offer potential for creating meaning and make notes about your ideas in your learning log.

As a Cantonese, we only have stir-fry and steam food at home when I was young.  We did not do home baking.  I’ve only started learning baking from TV cooking programmes recently and I quite enjoy it.  I choose to draw some of my baking instruments for this exercise.  IMG_0223 IMG_0224 IMG_0225

 

Here are some images of thumbnails from my sketchbook.

 

I quite like the first one.  I simplified it and developed it into the final drawing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the final drawing with light source coming from left-hand-side from the front instead of from the back.  I changed to artificial light so that I can work on it whenever I like without worrying about the forever changing angle and illumination of the natural sunlight.

Man-made objects, Pencil on A2 paper

Man-made objects,
Pencil on A2 paper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Reflection

This drawing took a long time.  On the whole I am quite happy with the reflected light and shadows and the composition.  However, I still find it difficult to draw ellipses.  I know I can only improve by practising it.

Two important discoveries during this exercise were:- (a) I knew myself better.  I discovered the patience and perseverance that I’ve never known to complete this drawing; and (b) pencil actually is quite forgiving.  I can correct my drawings without rubbing off mistakes.  I can draw on top of existing lines or extend volume of an object by adding bits to it.

2 thoughts on “Part 2, Ex 1- Composition Sketch of Man-Made Objects

Leave a Reply

