Exercise 1 Groups of objects

Draw a group of at least six objects of different sizes and shapes.

Firstly, I did a preliminary drawing with pencil on a A3 paper.  It is  very crammed small corner with a bedside lamp, a ginger jar, a book on a bedside table.  There were two light sources, daylight through window from the left and overhead lamp in the middle of the room.  I like the table lamp, the ginger jar and the book.  However, I have two problems: the perspective of the bedside table was wrong; and the shadows kept moving.  I could have checked the perspective and outlined all the shadows at the beginning.

I then moved to my second group of objects.  They are three boxes for boots and tubes for papers plus a sunglasses box.  They were set on a small table against the wall.  Drawing 1 is charcoal on newspaper.  I quite like the composition.  Drawing 2 is charcoal on A2 cartridge paper.  I think there are too much space on the top.  The Drawing 3 is also charcoal on A2 cartridge paper.  I think the composition is about right.

group drawing first attempt

group drawing first attempt

group objects drawing 1

group objects drawing 1

group objects drawing 2

group objects drawing 2

group objects drawing 3

group objects drawing 3

Leave a Reply

